Lee Grant – Photography Blog

When the Wind Changed…..

with 2 comments

In keeping with the new political mood of the country, I have changed my blog theme to something a little….. lighter.

Yay, summer has also arrived (well, sort of) and the anxiety that many of us experienced has – at least for now – calmed a little in anticipation of a brighter future. Xmas is close and the festive season is beginning to catch on. I really do love this time of year and as daggy and materialistic as it can be, I love the whole Xmas decorating/festooning/celebratory nature of the occasion. It seems to me to be the only time of year that people frenzy before they really and truly relax en masse. I’m hoping that our neighbours down the road will complete their renovations in time for their fabulously over the top Xmas show. The house is literally covered top to bottom in fantastic Xmas fairy lights and strange – rather freaky – Xmas characters. Here are some pics from last year:

Glow-in-the-dark plastic Santa

The Xmas Fairy… (so I’m told)

Iris in Santa’s Waiting Room

The above photograph was taken at the oldie’s home in Ainslie. I’m due to go back to visit this month which should be interesting (renovations are almost complete). I haven’t been since last Xmas – I have to admit it’s a hard place to go, a bit like visiting inmates in jail, though this particular home is probably one of the nicer retirement villages around. I’m hoping to finish off this series this coming year. Difficut to know when to stop but I figure that it’s time to put some of my work to bed and make space for new stories.

Anyway, stay tuned for more Xmassy things in the weeks to come…. including – with any luck – the annual Santa pub crawl……..

Written by Lee Grant

November 27, 2007 at 7:54 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. most photogenic when its most – what? there’s a word – not mawkish, but…

    Nigel

    November 28, 2007 at 3:47 pm

  2. I think it’s ‘woeful beauty’…. that is, the loveliness and sheer pleasure of everyday kitsch and bad taste.

    Lee

    November 28, 2007 at 4:06 pm


Leave a Reply

