Lee Grant – Photography Blog

Running with wolves and a bit of Sugar….

with 2 comments

So, it’s been a few hectic days… actually weeks! I’ll try to keep brief as I have a date with my couch, a bad DVD (Forgetting Sarah Marshall) and 2-minute noodles for dinner (the kids are away and I’m simply hopeless at dinner for one!).

So first up and to follow on from my last post, I’m posting Nachtwey’s Ted clip that we were all looking forward to seeing. It’s moving, there is little doubt about it, and he produces eloquent and meaningful work… but really, I was kinda expecting something a little more earth moving; maybe I’m just feeling a little bummed about traditional documentary these days – I also just came back from the opening of the 2008 Leica Documentary Prize exhibition tonight, which I realised I’d already seen (and critiqued on this very blog) earlier this year. Ho hum… I’m waiting for the revolution:

This morning I also got an alert via APE about a post that Amy Stein had written regarding a new documentary film called “Who does she think she is”. Well, you can imagine my excitement, relief and anticipation for a film about the difficulties faced by women in the art world! I’m quite relieved to see that it isn’t just me banging on about this issue – and whilst I don’t like to re-iterate the argument for the sake of it – I do believe it’s an important discussion for the art world to have and to recognise. Here’s a sneak peek:

Looks tres interesting indeed.

Lastly, and cos I’m hungry, I’ll sign off with a photo I took at the weekend at a friend’s place. I dunno why, but I love this picture. I feel like I’m in a kid’s picture book… the kind I still like to read…..

Sugar

Written by Lee Grant

October 8, 2008 at 7:58 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Always looking for new great source of inspiration. Do we need a new way to use pictures? A new way to tell stories?
    We live in a world of images and is every day more difficutl to produce new stunning ideas.

    Corsi Fotografia

    October 18, 2008 at 12:20 am

  2. Yes I agree, the world has become saturated with images but you can look at this several ways – and I’m sure even more!

    1. It can be harder to make more meaningful work (personally I don’t think so as is evidenced my the myriad of amazing photographers whose work I look at every single day… and that’s just on the web! It’s also an opportunity – if you are a photographer – to look at your own world with fresh eyes… and I mean REALLY look)

    2. Maybe there needs to be a shift in the way we ‘see’ and ‘look’ at images, in line with your idea of a new way of using pictures and/or telling stories. We’ve stuck to the same ‘traditional’ notion of (documentary/journalistic) story-telling for almost 100 years. In my own opinion, audiences also need to shift their treatment and expectations of what photography can now provide them…. time perhaps then, for a 21st Century “way of seeing” a la Berger?

    Lee

    October 18, 2008 at 9:26 am


Leave a Reply

