Lee Grant – Photography Blog

The tiny little halo of light at the end of a very long tunnel

leave a comment »

The last few months have been quite amazing in terms of the reception I’m starting to get with my work. I’d wager that it’s most photographers’ wish to show their work to a broader audience, whether that be in print, on a wall in a collection or gallery space or even online.  It certainly has been for me and over the last 4 years I’ve had some quite cool opportunities to show my work and I must admit that many of these have come as a result of competitions I’ve entered.

I can be a little cynical sometimes about the competition process, partially due to fees (it can be difficult to justify the often over-the-top costs just to participate – especially in this tough economic climate…. Food, rent or photography??) but also I do think there is a fair bit of politics and just plain trepidation when it comes to taking a punt on an unknown artist. However, having said this I also sincerely believe that sheer bloody determination and persistence can pay off. The more comps you enter the more familiar your name becomes to the very small circle of curators and judges that sit on the selection panels. Of course it helps to submit strong work in the first place but there is definitely something to be said about being stubborn and persevering….

For me the proof has come in the form of two opportunities, firstly the ACP portfolio review I mentioned a few posts back has resulted in an invitation to exhibit in a group show called Inheritance. The show will also feature Tracey Moffatt and quite a few other photographers, including Bindi Cole. I’m pretty excited. Secondly, another comp entry, this time to the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award has paid off with my selection as a finalist. Yay for me!! It’s the first time I’ve entered this award. In previous years I simply missed the boat or never got my act together on time. I’m glad I did this time! The image they’ve selected is below:

lg_belco_pride_10

Wednesday Night at the Tai Ping, 2008

Curator Naomi Cass from the CCP was the judge on this occasion. Suffice to say that I’m happy despite some anxiety with regards to how I’m going to pay for shipping and printing etc…. To help offset the costs though, I’ve  started teaching a documentary photography class to third years at the ANU School of Art. The first lesson was last week and it went pretty well. I’m looking forward to seeing the work that the students produce which will centre on the current economic crisis and how it has affected Australians in general (or not). The final outcome is to be a Blurb book and a small exhibition in PhotoSpace. Can’t quite believe I’m getting paid to teach something that I love!

On the other hand, it’s hardcore crunch time now with regards to my dissertation and I really have to just get writing. So, I’ll finish here and get on with it I guess (sigh…..).

Written by Lee Grant

February 28, 2009 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

